top of page

DIY Sharpie Harry Potter Mug


A few years back I made a Harry Potter themed mug for my mother for Christmas. She told me what all she wanted on it and the result was...well, it was okay. My mother cherished this mug and showed it off as much as possible. If you want to make your own- or make fun of my "artistic" skills- then grab some sharpies, a plain white mug, Harry Potter Blu-Ray collection, and lets get started!

DIY Harry Potter Mug

1. Okay to start off you need a mug, white preferably. I bought mine at the dollar store 2. Next you will need some Sharpie markers in your colors of choice, I used black, red, and yellow. 3. Design your mug! I put Harry's mug (ha. ha.) on the front of mine, with his Gryffindor scarf all the way around at the base and handle, Accio tea (or coffee if you choose) on the inner top, the Grim located at the bottom inside the mug, and on bottom of the mug I put the Deathly Hallows symbol.


​​



​SLXLM



​SLXLM


4. Dry the mug out! I let my mug dry over night so the fumes wouldn't be a problem in the oven. I'm kind of like the female equivalent to Seamus Finnigan when it comes to blowing random things up, but that is a story for another time though. You don't have to do an overnight dry fest, but I would advise you wait a couple hours before baking. 5. Place your mug on the center of a baking sheet and place it in the over. Heat the oven up to 350° F and bake for 30 minutes. I did mine twice so the colors would set in the mug, I don't know if truly makes a difference, but I remember being told you should.

Tips:

  • Place the mug in the oven before you turn it on so it can gradually heat up and then let the mug slowly cool down in the oven, this will ensure that the mug won't break or crack.

  • Follow the directions if you use the oil-based Sharpies, I do not have experience with these markers so they might have a different baking process.

Washing: We hand wash our dishes in our house anyways, but I suggest gently hand washing your mug with a soft sponge or rag. I know with using normal Sharpies the color will fade faster if you wash in a dish washer or using a abrasive sponge.

Congrats and enjoy your new magical mug!

Excuse the horrible pictures, they are from my 2011 "smart" phone

No tags yet.

TAGS

bottom of page